Skip to content
Lancashire Counts — Lancashire, in numbers.Local help →

Rossendale, in numbers

Projects: Rossendale

Rossendale local authority area. Every figure carries its own date.

The local plans, investments and decisions worth following.

3 selected records checked against official sources. A plan is not a completed project; each record shows the stage its source establishes.

Rawtenstall

Rawtenstall bus station and commercial units

The development combined a replacement bus station, public space and commercial units while retaining part of the old town hall.

Completed; final tenants in 2023 · source does not state a status date

Responsible body: Rossendale Borough Council

What the source says: The bus station opened in late 2019; the council records the wider £15 million project concluding in 2023.

Next thing to establish: What dated decision or progress report confirms the current stage?

Progress, funding and source
Cost
£15 million completed programme
Funding
Not established by the evidence checked.
Area covered
Named project location only. No verified current ward impact footprint; no ward-wide effect is inferred.

No verified ward footprint is assigned.

Rawtenstall Spinning Point programme →

Source checked 2026-10-17. A plan or announcement is not proof of completion.

Questions for the next progress report

  • Which funding is committed, and what remains conditional?
  • Which neighbourhoods are covered by an official project plan, and which benefits still need testing?
  • What is the next published milestone, and what evidence will show residents benefit?

Use the bus station as an everyday connection →

Connect local skills to local opportunities →

How to track delivery →

Newchurch Road and temporary town-square site

Rawtenstall Market redevelopment

The market hall is being renewed while traders operate from temporary cabins and the bus station.

Construction underway; spring 2027 target · source does not state a status date

Responsible body: Rossendale Borough Council

What the source says: The current market page confirms construction and temporary trading. Spring 2027 is a forecast and operator terms are still being agreed.

Next thing to establish: What dated decision or progress report confirms the current stage?

Progress, funding and source
Cost
£4.2 million government funding reported
Funding
Not established by the evidence checked.
Area covered
Named project location only. No verified current ward impact footprint; no ward-wide effect is inferred.

No verified ward footprint is assigned.

Current Rawtenstall Market project update →

Source checked 2026-10-17. A plan or announcement is not proof of completion.

Questions for the next progress report

  • Which funding is committed, and what remains conditional?
  • Which neighbourhoods are covered by an official project plan, and which benefits still need testing?
  • What is the next published milestone, and what evidence will show residents benefit?

Keep the market trading during the rebuild →

Do not reopen a market without workable management →

Connect local skills to local opportunities →

Target support where disadvantages overlap →

How to track delivery →

Haslingden

Higher Deardengate public-space improvements

Street improvements aim to improve pedestrian movement, access and space for town-centre events.

Works reported in January 2026; completion not verified · source does not state a status date

Responsible body: Rossendale Borough Council

What the source says: The January update forecasts sectional reopening and February completion. Those dates alone do not prove completion.

Next thing to establish: What dated decision or progress report confirms the current stage?

Progress, funding and source
Cost
Not established by the evidence checked.
Funding
Not established by the evidence checked.
Area covered
Named project location only. No verified current ward impact footprint; no ward-wide effect is inferred.

No verified ward footprint is assigned.

Haslingden streets and events update →

Source checked 2026-10-17. A plan or announcement is not proof of completion.

Questions for the next progress report

  • What is the approved cost, including ongoing maintenance?
  • Which funding is committed, and what remains conditional?
  • Which neighbourhoods are covered by an official project plan, and which benefits still need testing?
  • What is the next published milestone, and what evidence will show residents benefit?

Make Haslingden’s streets support ordinary days →

Connect local skills to local opportunities →

How to track delivery →