Skip to content
Lancashire Counts — Lancashire, in numbers.Local help →

Rossendale, in numbers

People and living standards: Rossendale

Rossendale local authority area. Every figure carries its own date.

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

Rossendale local authority area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 65,796 in 1991 to 73,688 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

Rossendale council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 65,397 people in 1996; 73,688 people in 2025. 12.7% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — Rossendale council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199165,796
199265,823
199365,839
199465,769
199565,706
199665,397
199765,259
199865,232
199965,340
200065,359
200165,647
200265,556
200365,729
200465,623
200565,872
200666,199
200766,623
200867,063
200967,479
201067,824
201168,053
201268,144
201368,505
201468,931
201569,196
201669,475
201770,084
201870,515
201970,884
202070,811
202171,008
202271,178
202371,800
202472,841
202573,688
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

Rossendale council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 14,540 people in 1996; 13,599 people in 2025. 6.5% lower between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — Rossendale council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199114,300
199214,420
199314,556
199414,667
199514,658
199614,540
199714,408
199814,344
199914,651
200014,632
200114,625
200214,353
200314,182
200413,810
200513,666
200613,506
200713,384
200813,268
200913,167
201013,188
201113,172
201213,243
201313,315
201413,433
201513,505
201613,529
201713,590
201813,662
201913,721
202013,679
202113,571
202213,581
202313,589
202413,706
202513,599
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

Rossendale council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 41,276 people in 1996; 45,552 people in 2025. 10.4% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — Rossendale council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199141,674
199241,576
199341,539
199441,391
199541,404
199641,276
199741,308
199841,364
199941,225
200041,352
200141,573
200241,681
200342,013
200442,233
200542,666
200643,113
200743,486
200843,863
200944,196
201044,274
201144,277
201243,761
201343,575
201443,506
201543,416
201643,354
201743,633
201843,732
201943,729
202043,570
202143,704
202243,717
202344,214
202444,881
202545,552
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

Rossendale council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 9,581 people in 1996; 14,537 people in 2025. 51.7% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — Rossendale council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
19919,822
19929,827
19939,744
19949,711
19959,644
19969,581
19979,543
19989,524
19999,464
20009,375
20019,449
20029,522
20039,534
20049,580
20059,540
20069,580
20079,753
20089,932
200910,116
201010,362
201110,604
201211,140
201311,615
201411,992
201512,275
201612,592
201712,861
201813,121
201913,434
202013,562
202113,733
202213,880
202313,997
202414,254
202514,537
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2021 census · 70,868 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Rossendale · 2021
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
Asian, Asian British or Asian Welsh3,8765.5%
Black, Black British, Black Welsh, Caribbean or African1720.2%
Mixed or Multiple ethnic groups1,0431.5%
White65,51092.4%
Other ethnic group2670.4%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 67,982 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Rossendale · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White63,77893.8%
Mixed/multiple ethnic groups6020.9%
Asian/Asian British3,3965%
Black/African/Caribbean/Black British1230.2%
Other ethnic group830.1%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2001 census · 65,652 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Rossendale · 2001
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White63,13896.2%
Mixed3020.5%
Asian/Asian British2,0153.1%
Black/Black British620.1%
Chinese/Other1350.2%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 10.3% below the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

Rossendale council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £9,822 per person in 1997; £23,283 per person in 2024. 137% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — Rossendale council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
19979,822
199810,048
199910,294
200010,941
200111,366
200211,597
200312,081
200412,689
200513,266
200613,521
200714,206
200814,546
200914,768
201014,882
201115,033
201215,075
201315,404
201415,725
201516,694
201616,872
201717,108
201817,477
201917,705
202017,785
202118,398
202220,006
202321,832
202423,283
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

Rossendale council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: -7.4% in 1997; -10.3% in 2024. 2.9 percentage points lower.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — Rossendale council area: full reviewed history
Period%
1997-7.4
1998-7.2
1999-9
2000-8.1
2001-8.1
2002-8.3
2003-7.3
2004-6.5
2005-5.6
2006-7.7
2007-7.4
2008-7.6
2009-7.8
2010-7.9
2011-7.7
2012-10.7
2013-12.1
2014-13
2015-12.2
2016-12.4
2017-13.2
2018-14.4
2019-16
2020-15.3
2021-15.8
2022-12.9
2023-10.7
2024-10.3
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Adults in work

57.8%

21 March 2021 · Rossendale local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents aged 16 and over

21 March 2021, residents aged 16 and over. Includes full-time students in the corresponding work/unemployment categories. Not a current labour-market estimate or the usual 16–64 employment rate. Census took place during the coronavirus pandemic; furlough and lockdown affected answers. Ward counts sum complete official output-area best-fit membership; privacy adjustment can make totals differ slightly.

Source →

Households facing several disadvantages

19.1%

21 March 2021 · Rossendale local authority area

Show the workings

All households

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Adults with no qualifications

18.6%

21 March 2021 · Rossendale local authority area

Show the workings

Residents aged 16 and over

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

6.1%

21 March 2021 · Rossendale local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents; self-reported, not age-standardised

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Average home price

£200,000

July 2026 · Rossendale local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Average monthly private rent

£811

August 2026 · Rossendale local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Official local housing data feed. House prices are provisional, not seasonally adjusted; rents use the Price Index of Private Rents. Local short-term estimates are variable. Country references use only the explicitly country-coded ctry object, never the local place object.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.