Skip to content
Lancashire Counts — Lancashire, in numbers.Local help →

Chorley, in numbers

People and living standards: Chorley

Chorley local authority area. Every figure carries its own date.

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

Chorley local authority area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 96,986 in 1991 to 121,814 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

Chorley council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 97,104 people in 1996; 121,814 people in 2025. 25.4% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — Chorley council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199196,986
199297,128
199397,300
199497,171
199597,367
199697,104
199797,881
199898,558
199998,822
2000100,043
2001100,559
2002101,142
2003102,003
2004102,778
2005103,279
2006103,807
2007104,362
2008105,396
2009105,682
2010106,443
2011107,591
2012108,916
2013110,160
2014111,174
2015112,418
2016113,593
2017114,810
2018115,739
2019116,762
2020117,178
2021117,908
2022118,591
2023119,656
2024120,579
2025121,814
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

Chorley council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 20,116 people in 1996; 21,068 people in 2025. 4.7% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — Chorley council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199120,748
199220,618
199320,561
199420,540
199520,383
199620,116
199719,912
199819,825
199919,903
200020,023
200119,859
200219,675
200319,575
200419,653
200519,695
200619,593
200719,412
200819,434
200919,336
201019,333
201119,583
201219,854
201320,036
201420,246
201520,369
201620,593
201720,838
201821,099
201921,298
202021,232
202121,268
202221,212
202321,235
202421,186
202521,068
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

Chorley council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 63,421 people in 1996; 74,829 people in 2025. 18% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — Chorley council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199162,833
199263,056
199363,191
199463,214
199563,496
199663,421
199764,273
199864,919
199965,038
200065,950
200166,402
200266,963
200367,702
200468,248
200568,395
200668,652
200768,998
200869,546
200969,412
201069,522
201169,797
201269,788
201369,977
201469,963
201570,437
201670,767
201771,336
201871,580
201971,843
202072,102
202172,382
202272,577
202373,328
202474,057
202574,829
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

Chorley council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 13,567 people in 1996; 25,917 people in 2025. 91% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — Chorley council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199113,405
199213,454
199313,548
199413,417
199513,488
199613,567
199713,696
199813,814
199913,881
200014,070
200114,298
200214,504
200314,726
200414,877
200515,189
200615,562
200715,952
200816,416
200916,934
201017,588
201118,211
201219,274
201320,147
201420,965
201521,612
201622,233
201722,636
201823,060
201923,621
202023,844
202124,258
202224,802
202325,093
202425,336
202525,917
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2021 census · 117,733 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Chorley · 2021
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
Asian, Asian British or Asian Welsh2,2041.9%
Black, Black British, Black Welsh, Caribbean or African6530.6%
Mixed or Multiple ethnic groups1,7731.5%
White112,58895.6%
Other ethnic group5150.4%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 107,155 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Chorley · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White103,83396.9%
Mixed/multiple ethnic groups1,0160.9%
Asian/Asian British1,7101.6%
Black/African/Caribbean/Black British4010.4%
Other ethnic group1950.2%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2001 census · 100,449 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Chorley · 2001
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White98,33897.9%
Mixed5940.6%
Asian/Asian British8340.8%
Black/Black British2830.3%
Chinese/Other4000.4%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 9.2% below the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

Chorley council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £10,205 per person in 1997; £23,589 per person in 2024. 131.2% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — Chorley council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
199710,205
199810,291
199910,657
200011,201
200111,697
200211,959
200312,294
200412,726
200513,252
200613,714
200714,264
200814,575
200915,116
201015,101
201115,427
201215,766
201316,162
201416,552
201517,640
201617,461
201718,131
201818,463
201919,278
202019,453
202120,185
202220,740
202322,111
202423,589
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

Chorley council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: -3.8% in 1997; -9.2% in 2024. 5.4 percentage points lower.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — Chorley council area: full reviewed history
Period%
1997-3.8
1998-4.9
1999-5.8
2000-5.9
2001-5.5
2002-5.5
2003-5.7
2004-6.2
2005-5.7
2006-6.4
2007-7
2008-7.5
2009-5.6
2010-6.5
2011-5.3
2012-6.7
2013-7.7
2014-8.5
2015-7.3
2016-9.3
2017-8
2018-9.5
2019-8.5
2020-7.3
2021-7.6
2022-9.7
2023-9.6
2024-9.2
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Adults in work

59.4%

21 March 2021 · Chorley local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents aged 16 and over

21 March 2021, residents aged 16 and over. Includes full-time students in the corresponding work/unemployment categories. Not a current labour-market estimate or the usual 16–64 employment rate. Census took place during the coronavirus pandemic; furlough and lockdown affected answers. Ward counts sum complete official output-area best-fit membership; privacy adjustment can make totals differ slightly.

Source →

Households facing several disadvantages

14.9%

21 March 2021 · Chorley local authority area

Show the workings

All households

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Adults with no qualifications

16%

21 March 2021 · Chorley local authority area

Show the workings

Residents aged 16 and over

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

5.2%

21 March 2021 · Chorley local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents; self-reported, not age-standardised

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Average home price

£213,000

July 2026 · Chorley local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Average monthly private rent

£798

August 2026 · Chorley local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Official local housing data feed. House prices are provisional, not seasonally adjusted; rents use the Price Index of Private Rents. Local short-term estimates are variable. Country references use only the explicitly country-coded ctry object, never the local place object.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.