Skip to content
Lancashire Counts — Lancashire, in numbers.Local help →

West Lancashire, in numbers

Projects: West Lancashire

West Lancashire local authority area. Every figure carries its own date.

The local plans, investments and decisions worth following.

3 selected records checked against official sources. A plan is not a completed project; each record shows the stage its source establishes.

White Moss Business Park, Skelmersdale

Junction 4 business units

Smaller industrial units are being built to address the council-reported shortage of space for growing firms.

Construction underway · source does not state a status date

Responsible body: Tawd Valley Developments and Caddick Construction

What the source says: Steel-frame construction is recorded. The 45 units and up to 125 jobs are planned capacity, not measured occupied units or jobs.

Next thing to establish: What dated decision or progress report confirms the current stage?

Progress, funding and source
Cost
£14 million development
Funding
Not established by the evidence checked.
Area covered
Named project location only. No verified current ward impact footprint; no ward-wide effect is inferred.

No verified ward footprint is assigned.

Junction 4 construction update →

Source checked 2026-10-17. A plan or announcement is not proof of completion.

Questions for the next progress report

  • Which funding is committed, and what remains conditional?
  • Which neighbourhoods are covered by an official project plan, and which benefits still need testing?
  • What is the next published milestone, and what evidence will show residents benefit?

Target business space to an identified gap →

Separate commercial forecasts from council exposure →

Connect local skills to local opportunities →

How to track delivery →

Digmoor, Skelmersdale

Digmoor brownfield preparation

Funding supports asbestos removal and demolition of six empty blocks to prepare land for future homes.

Grant agreement signed · source does not state a status date

Responsible body: West Lancashire Borough Council

What the source says: The grant pays for preparation. It does not fund or verify completed replacement housing.

Next thing to establish: What dated decision or progress report confirms the current stage?

Progress, funding and source
Cost
£500,000 site-preparation grant
Funding
Not established by the evidence checked.
Area covered
Named project location only. No verified current ward impact footprint; no ward-wide effect is inferred.

No verified ward footprint is assigned.

Digmoor Brownfield Land Release Fund award →

Source checked 2026-10-17. A plan or announcement is not proof of completion.

Questions for the next progress report

  • Which funding is committed, and what remains conditional?
  • Which neighbourhoods are covered by an official project plan, and which benefits still need testing?
  • What is the next published milestone, and what evidence will show residents benefit?

Explain the gap between demolition and homes →

Make room for homes people can afford →

Target support where disadvantages overlap →

How to track delivery →

Burscough to Parbold

Burscough to Parbold towpath

A canal towpath upgrade is the largest allocation in a wider infrastructure package.

Funding allocated; 2026–2028 programme · evidence dated 2026-01-07

Responsible body: Canal & River Trust with West Lancashire Borough Council

What the source says: The January announcement allocates £683,875 to the Canal & River Trust. Delivery remains distinct from the funding approval.

Next thing to establish: Which funding is committed, and what remains conditional?

Progress, funding and source
Cost
£683,875 allocated
Funding
Not established by the evidence checked.
Area covered
Named project location only. No verified current ward impact footprint; no ward-wide effect is inferred.

No verified ward footprint is assigned.

Local infrastructure funding allocations →

Source checked 2026-10-17. A plan or announcement is not proof of completion.

Questions for the next progress report

  • Which neighbourhoods are covered by an official project plan, and which benefits still need testing?
  • What is the next published milestone, and what evidence will show residents benefit?

Make the towpath a practical local route →

How to track delivery →