Skip to content
Lancashire Counts — Lancashire, in numbers.Local help →

South Ribble, in numbers

People and living standards: South Ribble

South Ribble local authority area. Every figure carries its own date.

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

South Ribble local authority area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 102,560 in 1991 to 117,554 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

South Ribble council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 102,093 people in 1996; 117,554 people in 2025. 15.1% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — South Ribble council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991102,560
1992102,209
1993102,884
1994102,910
1995102,294
1996102,093
1997102,319
1998102,518
1999103,169
2000103,689
2001103,949
2002104,522
2003105,149
2004105,578
2005105,753
2006106,512
2007107,128
2008107,830
2009108,609
2010108,846
2011109,181
2012108,879
2013108,916
2014109,357
2015109,873
2016110,253
2017110,348
2018110,334
2019110,477
2020110,613
2021111,203
2022112,213
2023113,721
2024115,727
2025117,554
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

South Ribble council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 21,396 people in 1996; 19,924 people in 2025. 6.9% lower between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — South Ribble council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199121,822
199221,733
199321,870
199421,924
199521,645
199621,396
199721,332
199821,208
199921,300
200021,166
200120,965
200220,933
200320,718
200420,469
200520,216
200620,069
200719,934
200819,829
200919,953
201019,840
201119,947
201219,766
201319,625
201419,579
201519,772
201619,931
201719,964
201819,883
201919,749
202019,577
202119,527
202219,650
202319,757
202419,909
202519,924
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

South Ribble council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 65,417 people in 1996; 71,529 people in 2025. 9.3% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — South Ribble council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199166,441
199265,926
199366,223
199466,081
199565,545
199665,417
199765,558
199865,712
199966,130
200066,526
200166,771
200267,203
200367,714
200468,122
200568,282
200668,922
200769,397
200869,802
200970,018
201069,838
201169,640
201268,622
201368,184
201468,115
201567,913
201667,748
201767,486
201867,258
201967,074
202067,205
202167,449
202267,930
202368,934
202470,246
202571,529
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

South Ribble council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 15,280 people in 1996; 26,101 people in 2025. 70.8% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — South Ribble council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199114,297
199214,550
199314,791
199414,905
199515,104
199615,280
199715,429
199815,598
199915,739
200015,997
200116,213
200216,386
200316,717
200416,987
200517,255
200617,521
200717,797
200818,199
200918,638
201019,168
201119,594
201220,491
201321,107
201421,663
201522,188
201622,574
201722,898
201823,193
201923,654
202023,831
202124,227
202224,633
202325,030
202425,572
202526,101
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2021 census · 111,035 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · South Ribble · 2021
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
Asian, Asian British or Asian Welsh2,3072.1%
Black, Black British, Black Welsh, Caribbean or African5390.5%
Mixed or Multiple ethnic groups1,9081.7%
White105,91995.4%
Other ethnic group3620.3%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 109,057 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · South Ribble · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White105,84797.1%
Mixed/multiple ethnic groups1,1741.1%
Asian/Asian British1,6121.5%
Black/African/Caribbean/Black British2680.2%
Other ethnic group1560.1%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2001 census · 103,867 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · South Ribble · 2001
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White101,78898%
Mixed6400.6%
Asian/Asian British8080.8%
Black/Black British1820.2%
Chinese/Other4490.4%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 12.2% below the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

South Ribble council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £9,648 per person in 1997; £22,788 per person in 2024. 136.2% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — South Ribble council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
19979,648
19989,759
199910,123
200010,522
200111,091
200211,320
200311,697
200412,169
200512,594
200613,008
200713,477
200813,732
200914,409
201014,347
201114,530
201214,911
201315,408
201415,793
201516,470
201616,862
201717,340
201817,866
201918,573
202019,105
202119,513
202220,311
202321,595
202422,788
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

South Ribble council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: -9.1% in 1997; -12.2% in 2024. 3.1 percentage points lower.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — South Ribble council area: full reviewed history
Period%
1997-9.1
1998-9.9
1999-10.5
2000-11.6
2001-10.3
2002-10.5
2003-10.3
2004-10.3
2005-10.4
2006-11.2
2007-12.2
2008-12.8
2009-10
2010-11.2
2011-10.8
2012-11.7
2013-12
2014-12.7
2015-13.4
2016-12.4
2017-12
2018-12.5
2019-11.9
2020-9
2021-10.7
2022-11.6
2023-11.7
2024-12.2
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Adults in work

59.8%

21 March 2021 · South Ribble local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents aged 16 and over

21 March 2021, residents aged 16 and over. Includes full-time students in the corresponding work/unemployment categories. Not a current labour-market estimate or the usual 16–64 employment rate. Census took place during the coronavirus pandemic; furlough and lockdown affected answers. Ward counts sum complete official output-area best-fit membership; privacy adjustment can make totals differ slightly.

Source →

Households facing several disadvantages

14.6%

21 March 2021 · South Ribble local authority area

Show the workings

All households

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Adults with no qualifications

15.7%

21 March 2021 · South Ribble local authority area

Show the workings

Residents aged 16 and over

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

5%

21 March 2021 · South Ribble local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents; self-reported, not age-standardised

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Average home price

£213,000

July 2026 · South Ribble local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Average monthly private rent

£805

August 2026 · South Ribble local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Official local housing data feed. House prices are provisional, not seasonally adjusted; rents use the Price Index of Private Rents. Local short-term estimates are variable. Country references use only the explicitly country-coded ctry object, never the local place object.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.