Skip to content
Lancashire Counts — Lancashire, in numbers.Local help →

Ribble Valley, in numbers

People and living standards: Ribble Valley

Ribble Valley local authority area. Every figure carries its own date.

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

Ribble Valley local authority area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 51,789 in 1991 to 66,938 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

Ribble Valley council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 51,961 people in 1996; 66,938 people in 2025. 28.8% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — Ribble Valley council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199151,789
199251,149
199351,239
199451,240
199551,343
199651,961
199752,133
199852,147
199953,132
200053,610
200154,053
200254,659
200355,400
200456,054
200556,358
200656,664
200756,986
200857,158
200957,004
201057,218
201157,292
201257,509
201357,692
201457,911
201558,275
201658,611
201759,066
201859,452
201959,903
202060,780
202161,865
202263,178
202364,678
202465,761
202566,938
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

Ribble Valley council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 9,829 people in 1996; 10,601 people in 2025. 7.9% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — Ribble Valley council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
19919,909
19929,824
19939,837
19949,888
19959,800
19969,829
19979,897
19989,879
199910,254
200010,453
200110,647
200210,689
200310,818
200410,911
200510,845
200610,798
200710,738
200810,668
200910,504
201010,517
201110,497
201210,490
201310,272
201410,172
201510,073
20169,974
20179,965
20189,948
20199,887
20209,932
202110,125
202210,437
202310,600
202410,555
202510,601
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

Ribble Valley council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 33,269 people in 1996; 39,358 people in 2025. 18.3% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — Ribble Valley council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199133,054
199232,563
199332,603
199432,608
199532,763
199633,269
199733,331
199833,345
199933,805
200033,996
200134,077
200234,493
200334,924
200435,345
200535,499
200635,636
200735,844
200835,779
200935,451
201035,378
201135,144
201234,918
201334,892
201434,708
201534,869
201635,018
201735,240
201835,351
201935,609
202036,159
202136,772
202237,210
202338,059
202438,679
202539,358
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

Ribble Valley council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 8,863 people in 1996; 16,979 people in 2025. 91.6% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — Ribble Valley council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
19918,826
19928,762
19938,799
19948,744
19958,780
19968,863
19978,905
19988,923
19999,073
20009,161
20019,329
20029,477
20039,658
20049,798
200510,014
200610,230
200710,404
200810,711
200911,049
201011,323
201111,651
201212,101
201312,528
201413,031
201513,333
201613,619
201713,861
201814,153
201914,407
202014,689
202114,968
202215,531
202316,019
202416,527
202516,979
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2021 census · 61,565 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Ribble Valley · 2021
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
Asian, Asian British or Asian Welsh1,2652.1%
Black, Black British, Black Welsh, Caribbean or African1250.2%
Mixed or Multiple ethnic groups7361.2%
White59,25696.2%
Other ethnic group1830.3%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 57,132 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Ribble Valley · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White55,90497.9%
Mixed/multiple ethnic groups3600.6%
Asian/Asian British7291.3%
Black/African/Caribbean/Black British920.2%
Other ethnic group470.1%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2001 census · 53,960 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Ribble Valley · 2001
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White53,10098.4%
Mixed2200.4%
Asian/Asian British4070.8%
Black/Black British550.1%
Chinese/Other1780.3%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 15.7% above the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

Ribble Valley council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £14,967 per person in 1997; £30,041 per person in 2024. 100.7% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — Ribble Valley council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
199714,967
199815,224
199915,317
200016,409
200116,884
200216,833
200317,239
200417,978
200518,788
200619,366
200720,368
200820,834
200920,550
201020,852
201121,087
201220,914
201321,759
201422,267
201523,647
201623,618
201724,177
201824,932
201925,717
202024,374
202125,888
202227,149
202328,552
202430,041
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

Ribble Valley council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: 41.1% in 1997; 15.7% in 2024. 25.4 percentage points lower.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — Ribble Valley council area: full reviewed history
Period%
199741.1
199840.6
199935.4
200037.9
200136.5
200233
200332.2
200432.5
200533.6
200632.2
200732.7
200832.3
200928.3
201029.1
201129.4
201223.8
201324.2
201423.1
201524.3
201622.6
201722.7
201822.2
201922
202016.1
202118.5
202218.2
202316.8
202415.7
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Adults in work

59%

21 March 2021 · Ribble Valley local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents aged 16 and over

21 March 2021, residents aged 16 and over. Includes full-time students in the corresponding work/unemployment categories. Not a current labour-market estimate or the usual 16–64 employment rate. Census took place during the coronavirus pandemic; furlough and lockdown affected answers. Ward counts sum complete official output-area best-fit membership; privacy adjustment can make totals differ slightly.

Source →

Households facing several disadvantages

10.9%

21 March 2021 · Ribble Valley local authority area

Show the workings

All households

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Adults with no qualifications

13.2%

21 March 2021 · Ribble Valley local authority area

Show the workings

Residents aged 16 and over

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

3.8%

21 March 2021 · Ribble Valley local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents; self-reported, not age-standardised

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Average home price

£286,000

July 2026 · Ribble Valley local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Average monthly private rent

£818

August 2026 · Ribble Valley local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Official local housing data feed. House prices are provisional, not seasonally adjusted; rents use the Price Index of Private Rents. Local short-term estimates are variable. Country references use only the explicitly country-coded ctry object, never the local place object.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.