Skip to content
Lancashire Counts — Lancashire, in numbers.Local help →

Pendle, in numbers

People and living standards: Pendle

Pendle local authority area. Every figure carries its own date.

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

Pendle local authority area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 85,541 in 1991 to 100,203 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

Pendle council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 87,192 people in 1996; 100,203 people in 2025. 14.9% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — Pendle council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199185,541
199286,009
199386,894
199487,301
199587,472
199687,192
199787,296
199887,411
199987,824
200088,467
200189,277
200288,830
200388,559
200488,330
200588,312
200688,788
200788,819
200889,005
200989,287
201089,234
201189,576
201289,873
201390,720
201490,803
201591,531
201692,502
201793,066
201893,872
201994,896
202095,099
202195,819
202296,483
202397,752
202499,643
2025100,203
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

Pendle council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 20,143 people in 1996; 20,816 people in 2025. 3.3% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — Pendle council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199119,420
199219,684
199320,009
199420,142
199520,194
199620,143
199720,116
199820,135
199920,154
200020,209
200120,211
200219,747
200319,327
200419,020
200518,808
200618,655
200718,299
200818,096
200918,157
201018,081
201118,321
201218,566
201318,953
201419,195
201519,475
201619,879
201720,008
201820,146
201920,467
202020,510
202120,454
202220,458
202320,663
202420,992
202520,816
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

Pendle council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 53,346 people in 1996; 60,887 people in 2025. 14.1% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — Pendle council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199152,048
199252,300
199352,876
199453,269
199553,411
199653,346
199753,615
199853,881
199954,091
200054,627
200155,327
200255,375
200355,546
200455,635
200555,852
200656,491
200756,802
200857,012
200957,086
201056,898
201156,779
201256,275
201356,250
201455,826
201556,009
201656,193
201756,429
201856,895
201957,374
202057,407
202158,063
202258,325
202359,090
202460,342
202560,887
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

Pendle council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 13,703 people in 1996; 18,500 people in 2025. 35% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — Pendle council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199114,073
199214,025
199314,009
199413,890
199513,867
199613,703
199713,565
199813,395
199913,579
200013,631
200113,739
200213,708
200313,686
200413,675
200513,652
200613,642
200713,718
200813,897
200914,044
201014,255
201114,476
201215,032
201315,517
201415,782
201516,047
201616,430
201716,629
201816,831
201917,055
202017,182
202117,302
202217,700
202317,999
202418,309
202518,500
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2021 census · 95,758 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Pendle · 2021
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
Asian, Asian British or Asian Welsh25,57326.7%
Black, Black British, Black Welsh, Caribbean or African2440.3%
Mixed or Multiple ethnic groups1,4881.6%
White67,57770.6%
Other ethnic group8760.9%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 89,452 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Pendle · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White71,43779.9%
Mixed/multiple ethnic groups9461.1%
Asian/Asian British16,80718.8%
Black/African/Caribbean/Black British1260.1%
Other ethnic group1360.2%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2001 census · 89,248 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Pendle · 2001
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White75,79984.9%
Mixed6060.7%
Asian/Asian British12,55614.1%
Black/Black British1020.1%
Chinese/Other1850.2%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 28.9% below the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

Pendle council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £8,668 per person in 1997; £18,449 per person in 2024. 112.8% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — Pendle council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
19978,668
19988,781
19999,028
20009,538
20019,876
200210,044
200310,512
200411,033
200511,655
200612,026
200712,748
200813,194
200913,385
201013,607
201113,695
201213,779
201313,879
201414,217
201514,902
201615,047
201715,245
201815,056
201915,432
202015,416
202115,980
202216,751
202317,651
202418,449
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

Pendle council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: -18.3% in 1997; -28.9% in 2024. 10.6 percentage points lower.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — Pendle council area: full reviewed history
Period%
1997-18.3
1998-18.9
1999-20.2
2000-19.9
2001-20.2
2002-20.6
2003-19.4
2004-18.7
2005-17.1
2006-17.9
2007-16.9
2008-16.2
2009-16.4
2010-15.8
2011-15.9
2012-18.4
2013-20.8
2014-21.4
2015-21.7
2016-21.9
2017-22.6
2018-26.2
2019-26.8
2020-26.6
2021-26.8
2022-27.1
2023-27.8
2024-28.9
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Adults in work

52.7%

21 March 2021 · Pendle local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents aged 16 and over

21 March 2021, residents aged 16 and over. Includes full-time students in the corresponding work/unemployment categories. Not a current labour-market estimate or the usual 16–64 employment rate. Census took place during the coronavirus pandemic; furlough and lockdown affected answers. Ward counts sum complete official output-area best-fit membership; privacy adjustment can make totals differ slightly.

Source →

Households facing several disadvantages

22.5%

21 March 2021 · Pendle local authority area

Show the workings

All households

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Adults with no qualifications

24.8%

21 March 2021 · Pendle local authority area

Show the workings

Residents aged 16 and over

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

5.8%

21 March 2021 · Pendle local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents; self-reported, not age-standardised

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Average home price

£153,000

July 2026 · Pendle local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Average monthly private rent

£670

August 2026 · Pendle local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Official local housing data feed. House prices are provisional, not seasonally adjusted; rents use the Price Index of Private Rents. Local short-term estimates are variable. Country references use only the explicitly country-coded ctry object, never the local place object.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.