Skip to content
Lancashire Counts — Lancashire, in numbers.Local help →

Hyndburn, in numbers

Projects: Hyndburn

Hyndburn local authority area. Every figure carries its own date.

The local plans, investments and decisions worth following.

3 selected records checked against official sources. A plan is not a completed project; each record shows the stage its source establishes.

Accrington town centre

Accrington Market fit-out

Local suppliers are fitting kitchens, counters, extraction and the central bar for the refurbished market.

Final fit-out; November 2026 opening forecast · source does not state a status date

Responsible body: Hyndburn Borough Council

What the source says: The September leader update reports final stages and a November 2026 opening forecast. It is not an opening record.

Next thing to establish: What dated decision or progress report confirms the current stage?

Progress, funding and source
Cost
Not established by the evidence checked.
Funding
Not established by the evidence checked.
Area covered
Named project location only. No verified current ward impact footprint; no ward-wide effect is inferred.

No verified ward footprint is assigned.

Accrington market supplier and fit-out update →

Source checked 2026-10-17. A plan or announcement is not proof of completion.

Questions for the next progress report

  • What is the approved cost, including ongoing maintenance?
  • Which funding is committed, and what remains conditional?
  • Which neighbourhoods are covered by an official project plan, and which benefits still need testing?
  • What is the next published milestone, and what evidence will show residents benefit?

Retain local skills in the market investment →

Make opening information dependable →

Avoid an expensive building with empty space →

Connect local skills to local opportunities →

How to track delivery →

Accrington town square

Burtons Chambers fit-out

Restoration and commercial fit-out follow completed enabling works to the heritage building.

Fit-out programme · source does not state a status date

Responsible body: Hyndburn Borough Council

What the source says: The preferred-contractor notice covers phase two. Its earlier opening target is not treated as achieved; the later market update still describes final stages at Burtons.

Next thing to establish: What dated decision or progress report confirms the current stage?

Progress, funding and source
Cost
Not established by the evidence checked.
Funding
Not established by the evidence checked.
Area covered
Named project location only. No verified current ward impact footprint; no ward-wide effect is inferred.

No verified ward footprint is assigned.

Accrington Town Square phase-two works →

Source checked 2026-10-17. A plan or announcement is not proof of completion.

Questions for the next progress report

  • What is the approved cost, including ongoing maintenance?
  • Which funding is committed, and what remains conditional?
  • Which neighbourhoods are covered by an official project plan, and which benefits still need testing?
  • What is the next published milestone, and what evidence will show residents benefit?

Make opening information dependable →

Avoid an expensive building with empty space →

Connect local skills to local opportunities →

Target support where disadvantages overlap →

How to track delivery →

Great Harwood and Rishton

Windsor Road and Harwood Road play areas

Old play equipment is being replaced with modern and more inclusive facilities.

Works underway in September 2026 · evidence dated 2026-09-11

Responsible body: Hyndburn Borough Council

What the source says: The council leader’s 11 September update reports works underway and an autumn reopening expectation, not completion.

Next thing to establish: What is the approved cost, including ongoing maintenance?

Progress, funding and source
Cost
Not established by the evidence checked.
Funding
Not established by the evidence checked.
Area covered
Named project location only. No verified current ward impact footprint; no ward-wide effect is inferred.

No verified ward footprint is assigned.

September 2026 council delivery update →

Source checked 2026-10-17. A plan or announcement is not proof of completion.

Questions for the next progress report

  • Which funding is committed, and what remains conditional?
  • Which neighbourhoods are covered by an official project plan, and which benefits still need testing?
  • What is the next published milestone, and what evidence will show residents benefit?

Design play areas around inclusive use →

Target support where disadvantages overlap →

How to track delivery →