Skip to content
Lancashire Counts — Lancashire, in numbers.Local help →

Hyndburn, in numbers

People and living standards: Hyndburn

Hyndburn local authority area. Every figure carries its own date.

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

Hyndburn local authority area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 78,641 in 1991 to 86,908 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

Hyndburn council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 80,628 people in 1996; 86,908 people in 2025. 7.8% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — Hyndburn council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199178,641
199278,812
199379,117
199479,870
199580,668
199680,628
199780,648
199880,867
199980,839
200081,069
200181,495
200281,233
200381,408
200481,280
200581,311
200681,491
200781,453
200881,176
200981,003
201080,876
201180,549
201280,362
201380,316
201480,707
201580,781
201681,242
201781,392
201881,778
201981,954
202082,144
202182,271
202283,306
202384,556
202485,895
202586,908
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

Hyndburn council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 18,475 people in 1996; 17,065 people in 2025. 7.6% lower between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — Hyndburn council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199117,389
199217,517
199317,766
199418,169
199518,452
199618,475
199718,495
199818,523
199918,652
200018,683
200118,594
200218,256
200318,284
200418,100
200517,864
200617,641
200717,348
200817,037
200916,960
201016,776
201116,557
201216,432
201316,461
201416,508
201516,613
201616,763
201716,823
201816,976
201916,882
202016,800
202116,529
202216,695
202316,927
202417,131
202517,065
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

Hyndburn council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 49,557 people in 1996; 54,119 people in 2025. 9.2% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — Hyndburn council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199148,691
199248,734
199348,781
199449,073
199549,552
199649,557
199749,658
199850,001
199949,903
200050,135
200150,587
200250,655
200350,849
200450,864
200551,102
200651,541
200751,754
200851,782
200951,556
201051,364
201151,071
201250,498
201350,069
201450,085
201549,891
201649,981
201749,949
201850,023
201950,135
202050,387
202150,632
202251,306
202352,233
202453,245
202554,119
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

Hyndburn council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 12,596 people in 1996; 15,724 people in 2025. 24.8% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — Hyndburn council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199112,561
199212,561
199312,570
199412,628
199512,664
199612,596
199712,495
199812,343
199912,284
200012,251
200112,314
200212,322
200312,275
200412,316
200512,345
200612,309
200712,351
200812,357
200912,487
201012,736
201112,921
201213,432
201313,786
201414,114
201514,277
201614,498
201714,620
201814,779
201914,937
202014,957
202115,110
202215,305
202315,396
202415,519
202515,724
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2021 census · 82,237 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Hyndburn · 2021
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
Asian, Asian British or Asian Welsh12,40115.1%
Black, Black British, Black Welsh, Caribbean or African2240.3%
Mixed or Multiple ethnic groups1,0911.3%
White67,98482.7%
Other ethnic group5370.7%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 80,734 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Hyndburn · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White70,77887.7%
Mixed/multiple ethnic groups6960.9%
Asian/Asian British9,00711.2%
Black/African/Caribbean/Black British1060.1%
Other ethnic group1470.2%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2001 census · 81,496 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Hyndburn · 2001
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White74,74091.7%
Mixed4820.6%
Asian/Asian British6,0647.4%
Black/Black British670.1%
Chinese/Other1430.2%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 32.1% below the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

Hyndburn council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £7,345 per person in 1997; £17,638 per person in 2024. 140.1% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — Hyndburn council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
19977,345
19987,421
19997,814
20008,103
20018,486
20028,710
20038,990
20049,538
200510,029
200610,359
200710,865
200811,226
200911,860
201011,941
201112,207
201212,540
201312,783
201412,961
201513,494
201613,897
201714,262
201814,484
201915,279
202015,510
202115,564
202215,811
202316,736
202417,638
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

Hyndburn council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: -30.8% in 1997; -32.1% in 2024. 1.3 percentage points lower.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — Hyndburn council area: full reviewed history
Period%
1997-30.8
1998-31.5
1999-30.9
2000-31.9
2001-31.4
2002-31.2
2003-31
2004-29.7
2005-28.7
2006-29.3
2007-29.2
2008-28.7
2009-25.9
2010-26.1
2011-25.1
2012-25.8
2013-27
2014-28.3
2015-29.1
2016-27.8
2017-27.6
2018-29
2019-27.5
2020-26.1
2021-28.7
2022-31.1
2023-31.6
2024-32.1
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Adults in work

54.3%

21 March 2021 · Hyndburn local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents aged 16 and over

21 March 2021, residents aged 16 and over. Includes full-time students in the corresponding work/unemployment categories. Not a current labour-market estimate or the usual 16–64 employment rate. Census took place during the coronavirus pandemic; furlough and lockdown affected answers. Ward counts sum complete official output-area best-fit membership; privacy adjustment can make totals differ slightly.

Source →

Households facing several disadvantages

23.5%

21 March 2021 · Hyndburn local authority area

Show the workings

All households

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Adults with no qualifications

22.8%

21 March 2021 · Hyndburn local authority area

Show the workings

Residents aged 16 and over

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

7%

21 March 2021 · Hyndburn local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents; self-reported, not age-standardised

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Average home price

£141,000

July 2026 · Hyndburn local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Average monthly private rent

£648

August 2026 · Hyndburn local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Official local housing data feed. House prices are provisional, not seasonally adjusted; rents use the Price Index of Private Rents. Local short-term estimates are variable. Country references use only the explicitly country-coded ctry object, never the local place object.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.