Skip to content
Lancashire Counts — Lancashire, in numbers.Local help →

Burnley, in numbers

People and living standards: Burnley

Burnley local authority area. Every figure carries its own date.

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

Burnley local authority area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 91,967 in 1991 to 100,946 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

Burnley council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 90,541 people in 1996; 100,946 people in 2025. 11.5% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — Burnley council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199191,967
199292,309
199391,394
199490,561
199589,862
199690,541
199790,978
199891,279
199990,292
200089,731
200189,521
200288,842
200388,282
200487,923
200587,624
200687,646
200787,256
200887,328
200987,027
201086,902
201187,032
201287,563
201387,795
201488,786
201589,230
201689,891
201790,902
201891,994
201992,949
202093,927
202194,734
202295,850
202397,302
202499,195
2025100,946
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

Burnley council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 21,346 people in 1996; 20,323 people in 2025. 4.8% lower between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — Burnley council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199121,027
199221,282
199321,320
199421,342
199521,208
199621,346
199721,342
199821,336
199920,989
200020,646
200120,327
200219,851
200319,282
200418,746
200518,375
200618,043
200717,622
200817,519
200917,320
201017,230
201117,180
201217,456
201317,515
201417,766
201517,942
201618,309
201718,750
201819,068
201919,215
202019,387
202119,405
202219,566
202319,719
202420,129
202520,323
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

Burnley council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 55,271 people in 1996; 62,307 people in 2025. 12.7% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — Burnley council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199156,502
199256,661
199355,878
199455,184
199554,662
199655,271
199755,785
199856,171
199955,678
200055,561
200155,613
200255,409
200355,422
200455,691
200555,736
200656,089
200756,074
200856,158
200955,878
201055,644
201155,650
201255,383
201355,181
201455,479
201555,492
201655,584
201755,984
201856,486
201957,001
202057,654
202158,328
202259,027
202360,049
202461,155
202562,307
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

Burnley council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 13,924 people in 1996; 18,316 people in 2025. 31.5% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — Burnley council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199114,438
199214,366
199314,196
199414,035
199513,992
199613,924
199713,851
199813,772
199913,625
200013,524
200113,581
200213,582
200313,578
200413,486
200513,513
200613,514
200713,560
200813,651
200913,829
201014,028
201114,202
201214,724
201315,099
201415,541
201515,796
201615,998
201716,168
201816,440
201916,733
202016,886
202117,001
202217,257
202317,534
202417,911
202518,316
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2021 census · 94,651 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Burnley · 2021
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
Asian, Asian British or Asian Welsh13,93014.7%
Black, Black British, Black Welsh, Caribbean or African3260.3%
Mixed or Multiple ethnic groups1,5051.6%
White78,11282.5%
Other ethnic group7780.8%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 87,059 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Burnley · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White76,05487.4%
Mixed/multiple ethnic groups9761.1%
Asian/Asian British9,57811%
Black/African/Caribbean/Black British2110.2%
Other ethnic group2400.3%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2001 census · 89,542 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Burnley · 2001
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White82,17191.8%
Mixed6300.7%
Asian/Asian British6,4097.2%
Black/Black British1210.1%
Chinese/Other2110.2%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 31% below the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

Burnley council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £7,157 per person in 1997; £17,928 per person in 2024. 150.5% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — Burnley council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
19977,157
19987,240
19997,642
20007,972
20018,420
20028,492
20038,962
20049,411
20059,938
200610,414
200711,063
200811,446
200912,037
201012,089
201112,311
201212,520
201312,692
201412,968
201513,305
201613,672
201713,874
201814,212
201914,756
202014,986
202115,347
202216,013
202316,904
202417,928
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

Burnley council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: -32.5% in 1997; -31% in 2024. 1.5 percentage points higher.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — Burnley council area: full reviewed history
Period%
1997-32.5
1998-33.1
1999-32.4
2000-33
2001-31.9
2002-32.9
2003-31.2
2004-30.7
2005-29.3
2006-28.9
2007-27.9
2008-27.3
2009-24.8
2010-25.1
2011-24.4
2012-25.9
2013-27.5
2014-28.3
2015-30.1
2016-29
2017-29.6
2018-30.4
2019-30
2020-28.6
2021-29.7
2022-30.3
2023-30.9
2024-31
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Adults in work

53.2%

21 March 2021 · Burnley local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents aged 16 and over

21 March 2021, residents aged 16 and over. Includes full-time students in the corresponding work/unemployment categories. Not a current labour-market estimate or the usual 16–64 employment rate. Census took place during the coronavirus pandemic; furlough and lockdown affected answers. Ward counts sum complete official output-area best-fit membership; privacy adjustment can make totals differ slightly.

Source →

Households facing several disadvantages

24.8%

21 March 2021 · Burnley local authority area

Show the workings

All households

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Adults with no qualifications

24.4%

21 March 2021 · Burnley local authority area

Show the workings

Residents aged 16 and over

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

7%

21 March 2021 · Burnley local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents; self-reported, not age-standardised

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Average home price

£135,000

July 2026 · Burnley local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Average monthly private rent

£631

August 2026 · Burnley local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Official local housing data feed. House prices are provisional, not seasonally adjusted; rents use the Price Index of Private Rents. Local short-term estimates are variable. Country references use only the explicitly country-coded ctry object, never the local place object.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.