Skip to content
Lancashire Counts — Lancashire, in numbers.Local help →

Preston, in numbers

People and living standards: Preston

Preston local authority area. Every figure carries its own date.

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

Preston local authority area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 130,029 in 1991 to 164,498 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

Preston council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 132,247 people in 1996; 164,498 people in 2025. 24.4% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — Preston council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991130,029
1992129,595
1993130,099
1994130,902
1995131,942
1996132,247
1997132,521
1998131,758
1999131,597
2000131,199
2001130,372
2002131,110
2003132,685
2004134,410
2005136,200
2006137,784
2007138,470
2008138,443
2009137,956
2010138,831
2011140,054
2012140,216
2013140,302
2014140,158
2015140,615
2016140,468
2017141,734
2018142,417
2019144,624
2020145,912
2021147,786
2022152,462
2023158,206
2024161,593
2025164,498
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

Preston council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 28,977 people in 1996; 32,369 people in 2025. 11.7% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — Preston council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199127,919
199228,167
199328,542
199428,949
199529,103
199628,977
199728,946
199828,744
199928,188
200027,620
200126,966
200226,475
200326,311
200426,262
200526,284
200626,301
200726,343
200826,345
200926,376
201026,562
201126,905
201226,917
201327,117
201427,232
201527,456
201627,602
201727,966
201828,338
201928,812
202029,040
202129,266
202229,777
202330,766
202431,658
202532,369
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

Preston council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 84,008 people in 1996; 108,304 people in 2025. 28.9% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — Preston council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199182,291
199281,834
199382,115
199482,632
199583,515
199684,008
199784,362
199883,919
199984,424
200084,567
200184,451
200285,720
200387,404
200489,161
200590,923
200692,481
200793,155
200893,011
200992,475
201093,008
201193,796
201293,512
201393,124
201492,581
201592,619
201692,066
201792,869
201893,057
201994,433
202095,262
202196,543
2022100,205
2023104,592
2024106,668
2025108,304
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

Preston council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 19,262 people in 1996; 23,825 people in 2025. 23.7% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — Preston council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199119,819
199219,594
199319,442
199419,321
199519,324
199619,262
199719,213
199819,095
199918,985
200019,012
200118,955
200218,915
200318,970
200418,987
200518,993
200619,002
200718,972
200819,087
200919,105
201019,261
201119,353
201219,787
201320,061
201420,345
201520,540
201620,800
201720,899
201821,022
201921,379
202021,610
202121,977
202222,480
202322,848
202423,267
202523,825
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2021 census · 147,834 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Preston · 2021
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
Asian, Asian British or Asian Welsh29,81520.2%
Black, Black British, Black Welsh, Caribbean or African3,4892.4%
Mixed or Multiple ethnic groups4,3673%
White107,32172.6%
Other ethnic group2,8421.9%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 140,202 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Preston · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White112,41580.2%
Mixed/multiple ethnic groups3,3262.4%
Asian/Asian British21,73215.5%
Black/African/Caribbean/Black British1,6761.2%
Other ethnic group1,0530.8%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2001 census · 129,633 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Preston · 2001
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White110,84885.5%
Mixed1,7371.3%
Asian/Asian British15,06711.6%
Black/Black British1,1820.9%
Chinese/Other7990.6%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 24.5% below the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

Preston council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £8,762 per person in 1997; £19,616 per person in 2024. 123.9% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — Preston council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
19978,762
19988,885
19999,212
20009,536
200110,162
200210,242
200310,524
200410,867
200511,229
200611,483
200711,879
200812,192
200912,982
201012,803
201112,938
201213,349
201313,610
201413,975
201514,561
201614,996
201715,355
201815,406
201915,914
202016,489
202116,978
202217,434
202318,584
202419,616
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

Preston council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: -17.4% in 1997; -24.5% in 2024. 7.1 percentage points lower.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — Preston council area: full reviewed history
Period%
1997-17.4
1998-17.9
1999-18.6
2000-19.9
2001-17.9
2002-19
2003-19.3
2004-19.9
2005-20.1
2006-21.6
2007-22.6
2008-22.6
2009-18.9
2010-20.7
2011-20.6
2012-21
2013-22.3
2014-22.7
2015-23.5
2016-22.1
2017-22.1
2018-24.5
2019-24.5
2020-21.4
2021-22.3
2022-24.1
2023-24
2024-24.5
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Adults in work

56.2%

21 March 2021 · Preston local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents aged 16 and over

21 March 2021, residents aged 16 and over. Includes full-time students in the corresponding work/unemployment categories. Not a current labour-market estimate or the usual 16–64 employment rate. Census took place during the coronavirus pandemic; furlough and lockdown affected answers. Ward counts sum complete official output-area best-fit membership; privacy adjustment can make totals differ slightly.

Source →

Households facing several disadvantages

19.8%

21 March 2021 · Preston local authority area

Show the workings

All households

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Adults with no qualifications

19.4%

21 March 2021 · Preston local authority area

Show the workings

Residents aged 16 and over

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

5.6%

21 March 2021 · Preston local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents; self-reported, not age-standardised

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Average home price

£189,000

July 2026 · Preston local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Average monthly private rent

£790

August 2026 · Preston local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Official local housing data feed. House prices are provisional, not seasonally adjusted; rents use the Price Index of Private Rents. Local short-term estimates are variable. Country references use only the explicitly country-coded ctry object, never the local place object.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.